Naobay Gentle Face Toner review

All-focus

I’m not one to put much value on face toners because I honestly tend to skip them when I do my skin care routine, but it was nice to get this product in the Lookfantastic beauty box, especially since it was a full-sized one.

Naobay is a Spanish brand founded by two brothers, Javier and Christina. Christina is a pharmaceutical professional and Javier is an industrial engineer, so in 2007 they started manufacturing beauty products with the help of their father who had some experience in working with skin care formulas. The name Naobay stands for “Natural And Organic, Beauty And You”, which is their motto when it comes to what they put in their products. All products are cruelty free.

Packaging:

The face toner comes in a plastic bottle which is recycle and it has a wooden cap. The pieces of wood used to make the caps of Naobay products come from recycled parts  of the wood industry in the Valencia area. I think this is actually a nice touch and it’s great to see that they found a way to make of us of the small wooden parts that are not used in the wood industry.

Texture:

Being a face toner, the product is a clear liquid that has a very nice scent, due to all the natural ingredients in its formula. I quite enjoy the scent to be honest.

Ingredients:

Aqua, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Fruit Water*, Glycerin, Propanediol, Lavandula Angustifolia Flower Water*, Mentha Sativa Leaf Water*, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Rubus Idaeus Fruit Extract*, Helichrysum Stoechas Flower Extract*, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract*, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract*, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Cellulose Gum, Citric Acid, Parfum, Citral, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool.

*Ingredients from organic farming.
**Made using organic ingredients.

The ingredients list looks very nice, with plenty of herbs and fruit extracts (orange water, raspberry, lavender water, peppermint water, marigold, marshmallow), but I don’t know why they added some perfume in the formula since this is supposed to be a gentle toner. I don’t mind it, but those with very sensitive skin should be aware of it.

Price and accessibility:

Like most organic and  natural cosmetics, Naobay products have a higher price tag. In Romania, they can be found in various online stores, especially in those specialized in natural and organic cosmetics. It’s not something I would be willing to pay around 15 euros.

My overall opinion:

I use the face toner in the morning, when I don’t feel like I need to go in with a cleansing gel. I just was my face with some luke-warm water and put some toner on with a cotton pad. I must say the skin does look refreshed and I like how it doesn’t leave a sticky residue behind, like some face toners do.

I appreciate the brand for what they stand for and I like their ingredients, but if I hadn’t received this face toner in a box, I wouldn’t have bought it on my own just because I don’t feel like face toners make a big difference on my skin. However, I would be interested to see if their other skin care products are as good as they promise to be.

2 comments

Leave a comment